Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics

data.ny.gov | Last Updated 1 Jul 2021

The Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) survey is a semiannual mail survey of employers that measures occupational employment and occupational wage rates for wage and salary workers in nonfarm establishments, by industry. OEWS estimates are constructed from a sample of about 44,400 establishments. Each year, forms are mailed to two semiannual panels of approximately 7,400 sampled establishments, one panel in May and the other in November.

Tags: occupations, wages, employment

This dataset has the following 10 columns:

Column NameAPI Column NameData TypeDescriptionSample Values
Area Typearea_typenumberType of Area: 1 - Statewide, 10 - Labor Market Region
AreaareanumberGeographic Area Code: 1 - Capital Region; 2 - Central New York Region; 3 - Finger Lakes Region; 4 - Hudson Valley Region; 5 - Long Island Region; 6 - Mohawk Valley Region; 7 - New York City Region; 8 - North Country Region; 9 - Southern Tier Region; 10 - Western New York Region; 36 - New York Statewide.
Area Namearea_nametextNew York State consists of 62 counties. Counties are the building blocks used to build progressively larger geographic areas for which labor market statistics are reported. New York has 10 Labor market regions: Capital Region - Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Warren, and Washington counties. Central New York Region - Cayuga, Cortland, Onondaga, and Oswego counties. Finger Lakes Region - Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates counties. Hudson Valley Region - Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester counties. Long Island Region - Nassau and Suffolk counties. Mohawk Valley Region - Fulton, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, and Schoharie counties. New York City Region - Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond counties. North Country Region - Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, and St. Lawrence counties. Southern Tier Region - Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, and Tompkins counties. Western New York Region - Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, and Niagara counties. New York State - The aggregate of all counties in New York
Standard Occupational Codestandard_occupational_codetextStandardized coding structure used to identify occupational titles
Occupational Titleoccupational_titletextThe OEWS survey categorizes workers into 821 detailed occupations based on the Office of Management and Budget’s 2010 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system. Together, these detailed occupations make up 22 of the 23 SOC major occupational groups. Major group 55, Military Specific Occupations, is not included
EmploymentemploymentnumberOccupational Employment – The number of part-time and full-time workers who are paid a wage or salary
Mean WagemeannumberAverage Wage
Median WagemediannumberMedian Wage
Entry Wageentry_wagenumberEntry Wage - Average of bottom third of wages in an occupation.
Experienced Wageexperienced_wagenumberExperienced wage - Average of the top two thirds of wages in an occupation.